Minor League history: Arkansas State League

In this edition the Arkansas State League is placed in the foot light.

The Arkansas State League had several runs.  The first Arkansas State League operated just one season in 1894 followed by a second edition in 1897.

The league that started in 1908 was a Class D league and lasted two seasons before it dissolved.

The cities that had teams in this league were:

Alexandria, LA: Alexandria Hoo Hoos 1909
Argenta, AR: 1908; Argenta Shamrocks 1909
Brinkley, AR: Brinkley Infants 1908
Ft. Smith, ARFt. Smith Soldiers 1909
Helena, ARHelena Ponies1908; Helena Hellions 1909
Hot Springs, ARHot Springs Giants1908; Hot Springs Vaporites 1909
Jonesboro, ARJonesboro Zebras 1909
Monroe, LAMonroe Municipals 1909
Newport, ARBatesville, ARNewport Pearl Diggers 1908; Newport-Batesville Pearl Diggers 1909
Pine Bluff, ARPine Bluff Tigers 1908
Poplar Bluff, MOPoplar Bluff Tigers 1908
Texarkana, TX: Texarkana 1909

Like happened in so many leagues teams moved or dissolved mid season. In this case the Poplar Bluff Tigers were replaced by the Brinkley Infants on June 8 1908.

In both years the team that finished on top of the league was declared winner. In 1908 the Hot Spring Giants finished on top with a 9.5 lead over the Newport Pearl Diggers. In 1909 the Jonesboro Zebras won with the slimmest possible margin of half a game over the Helena Helions.

In 1934 a fourth edition of the Arkansas State League was started.
The following cities had teams in the league that lasted two seasons:

Bentonville, AR: Bentonville Officeholders 1934-1935
Cassville, MO: Cassville Tigers 1935
Fayetteville, AR: Fayetteville Educators 1934; Fayetteville Bears 1935
Huntsville, AR: Huntsville Red Birds 1935
Rogers, AR: Rogers Rustlers 1934; Rogers Cardinals 1935
Siloam Springs, AR: Siloam Springs Buffaloes 1934; Siloam Springs Travelers 1935

Once again teams folded during the season as the Fayetteville Educators and the Siloam Springs Buffaloes dropped out on August 19. In this case it had quite some impact on the play offs.  The Rogers Rustlers won the first half of the season in a one game play off vs the Siloam Springs Buffaloes. But when Siloam and Fayetteville stepped back, the Bentonville Officeholders were declared second half winners. In the championship series the Rogers Rustlers beat the Betonville Officeholders 4-3.

In 1935, Siloam Springs returned to the league with a new team named the Travelers. The Travelers made the play offs but were beaten 4-3 by the Rogers Cardinals.

After the 1935 season, the league renamed itself Arkansas-Missouri League.


Irish American Baseball Society

Baseball from a Dutch point of view since 2014

Maritime Pro Ball

Blog advocating bringing minor league ball to the Maritime Provinces!

D-Backs Europe

Een kijk op de MLB met een vleugje Arizona Diamondbacks

Milujeme Baseball

Nejlepší český web o baseballu

Dutch Baseball Hangout

Baseball from a Dutch point of view since 2014


Follow my trip in the USA during the 2016 summer!

Honkbal Op Zolder

Blog over bijzaken in Major League Baseball

The Ball Caps Blog

Baseball caps and beyond

The Negro Leagues Up Close

A blog about a century of African-American baseball history

Baseball History Daily

Heroes, Villains, Oddities and Minutia--The Forgotten History of the National Pastime

The Midwest League Traveler

Traveling & writing about the Midwest League, past & present, since 2011

Ben's Biz Blog

The Greatest Minor League Baseball Blog of All Time

B3: Big, Bald and Beautiful

Your guide to all things prospect, courtesy of Jonathan Mayo

Universo Béisbol

Hagamos del béisbol un deporte más universal.

%d bloggers like this: