Baseball Shorts: A no-hitter retroactively

In today’s episode of Baseball Shorts, we pay attention to a no-hitter that wasn’t celebrated after the final out as it was only ruled a nono after the end of the game.

Amazon.com: Vintography Reproduced 24 x 30 Photo Bob Groom ...On May 6, 1917, a scoring change by a panel of sportswriters after the game turned the game into a no-hitter. The panel reversed the first-inning hit into an error, hours after the game. As a result, Bob Groom of the Browns no-hit the White Sox, 4-0 and the Chicago Tribune’s headline read, “Koob Tames Sox in One Hit Game, 1-0.

As a coincidence, Groom’s teammate, Ernie Koob also no-hit the White Sox or Pale Hose as they were also called, the previous day. To date, Koob and Groom are the only teammates to pitch no-hitters on consecutive days.

As often happens, it is not always the greatest pitchers that pitch a no-hitter. One can say so in the case of Groom. In a ten year career, he played for four different clubs: Washington Senators (1909-1913), St. Louis Terriers (Federal League, 1914-1915), St. Louis Browns (1916-1917), and the Cleveland Indians (1918). In ten years, he recorded 119 wins and 150 losses though his ERA wasn’t all that shabby (3.10).

After his last season with the Indians, Groom did not return to baseball at all, not even to the minors.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s